[^] | [YOUTH] | [U8] | [2012-2013]

Youth Hockey


Success for City U8s in their First Tournament
On a scorching summer’s day, five U8 teams congregated at the Dragon’s Den for their first tournament. Norwich City fielded two enthusiastic and well-matched teams: the Wizards and the Knights, with the other teams coming from Dragons (2) and Bury HC.  
The first match was the Norwich City derby. Both teams played extremely well in an end-to-end affair. It was the Wizards who scored first, through Rocco Iaccarino. The Knights fought back and with a well taken short corner routine Joseph Roy got them back into the game. The match continued from end to end, and both the Norwich City coaches were very relieved that the score ended at a fair 1-1! 
Next the Norwich Knights came up against the Dragons White Team. For the first few minutes the game was evenly matched, with Lottie Smith and Cameron Tasker in defence keeping the Knights in the game with some excellent but uncompromising tackling. Then Joseph Roy in midfield struck a long ball towards the Dragons goal. Freddie Paterson chased after it, just kept it in play and dribbled it into the goal. After that, it was all Norwich, and shortly afterwards, Freddie added a second for a 2-0 victory.  
The Knights’ third game was against Dragons Green team and it was a real rollercoaster, with Dragons going into the lead three times! But the Knights are made of strong stuff, with the tenacious midfield of Alex Illing, Abi Hill and Abi Flatt fighting for every ball and Freddie scoring three times. Then, as the final whistle was about to blow, Knights were awarded a penalty which under U8 rules is a 1-on-1 play. Freddie stepped up, dribbled the ball into the D and belted it past the Dragons defender for a last gasp City 4-3 victory. 
Meanwhile, the Wizards second game was against Dragons Green team. The Wizards played exceptionally well to record a 6-0 win, with the highlight being a wonderful passing move which started from a Niamh Campbell hit in defence which found Mia Bartram. Mia’s first time pass was picked up by Harry MacKenzie, who beat a defender before unselfishly passing to Rocco Iaccarino to score. Rocco scored another goal with Harry MacKenzie scoring two. Oliver Leary and Mia Bartram completed the scoring. 
The Wizards then played against Bury who proved to be a stern test. Some splendid defending from Connie Scott and Oliver Leary helped resist the Bury forwards until, with 5 minutes to go, Bury managed to score on the break. The Wizards were not to be denied, pouring forward to try and equalise and were unlucky when a shot from Mia Bartram was adjudged to be outside the circle. With only about a minute to go the team got their deserved equaliser as Harry Mackenzie picked up a pass from Krishna Patel and raced clear to score. 
And so, coming into the last game, the tournament was still up for grabs, with the two City teams and Bury in the hunt for the medal places. The Knights were up against Bury, and played really well but ran out of steam in the blazing midday sun. In an even game, Norwich were hit twice on the break to lose 2-0. Meanwhile the Wizards came up against the Dragons White team and, in a see-saw game, the Wizards took the lead twice with 2 goals from Harry before being pegged back. Things were desperate as time ran out and both Niamh Campbell and Harry MacKenzie had to put in match-saving tackles. But then Harry cleared the ball upfield and a touch from Krishna saw Rocco clean through for what proved to be the tournament winning goal. 
It was with great pride that the Norwich City coaches and parents saw the Wizards take first place and the Knights third place in the tournament. Most of the players were playing their first tournament and the enthusiasm, excitement and moments of skill were fantastic to see - the attention from the massed paparazzi (see picture)was well deserved. Thanks to all the parents for their support and Sarah for the welcome celebratory ice lollies as the temperature nudged into the high 20s! 





  [2021-2022]    [2020-2021]    [2019-2020]    [2018-2019]    [2017-2018]    [2016-2017]    [2015-2016]    [2014-2015]    [2013-2014]    [2012-2013]    [*]